The group meets once a month to plan and coordinate social and fundraising activities and assist with College Music events. They also provide a point of contact for parents of Music students and it is a great opportunity for bringing together like-minded parents whose daughters share an interest in music and performance.

All parents are invited to participate in this group and can contribute by attending the monthly meetings, donating prizes for fundraising activities and / or assisting at Music events.


2020 Meeting Dates

The Music Support Group meetings are held in Cruci (ground floor) commencing at 7.00pm

Wednesday 5 February – Welcome Supper and monthly meeting

Wednesday 11 March

Wednesday 22 April

Wednesday 13 May

Wednesday 10 June

Wednesday 22 July

Wednesday 19 August

Wednesday 9 September

Wednesday 14 October

Wednesday 11 November


2019/2020 Music Support Group Executive

PresidentAnn Page
TreasurerLouise Clarke
Co-SecretaryMillie Coorey
Co-SecretaryPaul Isaac

 

Find out more by contacting the College directly community@loreto.qld.edu.au


Special Events

  • Live and Wired Music Festival, Sunday 30 August 2020

Music Department Events

The group also help to organise or run many events. Their assistance at the Mid-Year Concert, Music Night, Senior Extension Recitals, QCMF, Music Camp, Trivia Night, Inter-House Music Festival and Music Breakfast is a vital part of the success of music at Loreto.


Financial Support

The considerable financial support generated by the group’s fundraising efforts each year allows the Music department to:

  • Pay for specialist conductors for extra ensembles;
  • Fund music scholarships that both assists some students to excel in their chosen instruments and encourages others to try instruments for which we have need;
  • Purchase expensive instruments whose presence benefits the entire program through their use in a variety of ensembles (eg. Xylophone, Drum Kit, Baritone Sax and Double Bass).